12 week paramedic program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slick27

controversial
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
McCook Community College has a 12 week pramedic program. What does everybody think of this accelerated program?

http://www.mpcc.edu/Accelerated_EMT-Paramedic.html

I know most people in EMS do not think highly of accelerated programs, but I can't image spending a year to become a paramedic when to become an RN would only take one more additional year.
I have a biomedical degree and minor in chemistry, NREMT-B, CNA, PADI Open water diver, shawdowing experience......GPA 3.8, MCAT 29O and still can't get into med school, so what would be the best back up plan?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
McCook Community College has a 12 week pramedic program. What does everybody think of this accelerated program?

I know most people in EMS do not think highly of accelerated programs, but I can't image spending a year to become a paramedic when to become an RN would only take one more additional year.

Others might disagree with me, but I think its a terrible idea. I think every minute of the year I spent in paramedic school was valuable and necessary. Shortening that down to 1/4 of the time just seems absurd and quite frankly a little scary. What are the hours of this accelerated program? My normal program was a full day every day so I'm not sure how you could squeeze the same info into 12 weeks. For those of us who wish paramedics got more respect within the medical community -- more rigorous training/requirements are better than skimming it down. Saying you can get your paramedic in 12 weeks just takes steps backwards for the profession.

Sure you can go to school for 2 years instead of 1 and get your RN...but an RN is not a paramedic. They are not the same thing at all. Which do you want to be?